Is it OK to be angry?

Have seen a post on a support type group online, by a fibromyalgia  sufferer advocating  exercise  and running.  She’s really happy she’s completed a half marathon, despite  having fibro  for almost 3 years. 

I want to be happy for her and believe me there are a fair few “congratulations”  and “you’re so inspirational” posts. But I’m annoyed.
I’m annoyed that
1) a fellow fibro sufferer is bashing us lazy fibro sufferers ( indirectly )
2) how come no one has asked, how can someone who really has fibromyalgia  be running AT ALL.
3) if exercise  helped fibromyalgia,  how come I got it? I used to exercise regularly,  ate healthily  and was a positive person. So if exercise  helps how come it didn’t prevent me from ghosting away
😦

Posts like hers make me angry.

Am I the only one?
Am I being really mean?

3 thoughts on “Is it OK to be angry?

  1. My sister and I both have CFS. We both like to be active if we can, but we both have to spend a lot of time in bed. I walk, she runs – and we both crash hard for weeks at a time, just trying to be some semblance of “normal” on our better days. My sister has run marathons for charity, but always prepares herself for the inevitable crash.

    I think anger is a natural reaction. I love my sister dearly, but it doesn’t stop me being envious of her active lifestyle.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I can understand why you would feel angry but I have to remind myself constantly that everyone has different experiences with illness and while some may find exercise helpful, others may not. I am inbetween as sometimes exercise is really helpful and actually gives me more energy but other times it just results in a serious crash. It is natural to look at judge others who have the same condition as you but it is important to remember that everyone is different but also there will be plenty of people out there that will be very similar to you and so remember you aren’t alone in this, we all can support each other, even though it is sometimes difficult not to feel angry or envious of others ☺️

    Liked by 6 people

  3. I don’t think you’re being mean; I think you’re just having a response to something and there’s no harm in that. Perhaps the woman who made the post is really just celebrating the fact that she has found something that’s helpful for her and that she has been able to accomplish those things, with no intention of putting others down who maybe can’t do those activities. There’s nothing wrong with anyone sharing their accomplishments. It doesn’t mean those who aren’t able to do those things are less than.

    Overall, as saunds22 said above, I think everyone’s body is different. A chronic illness may include these symptoms, while for someone else it may include those symptoms. And throughout our years, I think these symptoms can shift and change, for better or for worse.

    I can understand your perspective, though, of not being able to do something that you once were able to do. I can relate to that, as I used to exercise years ago, but am unable to do those activities now. I’ve read stories of other people with scoliosis who are able to do weight lifting, running, etc. and I think man, they’re lucky they’re able to do that, because my body won’t allow that for me anymore. But instead, I focus on what I *can* do. For me, on the fibro side of things, walking helps with my energy. Even if I can only do 10 minutes at a time or 10 minutes a day, (or until my back starts hurting), it is something. I know it seems unfair that some may be able to do more intense activities, and some may not be able to do the most gentle of activities; but I think it’s important to allow people the space to celebrate what they can do, while we focus on what we can do and what’s best for us. 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

Leave a Reply

